Portfolio → Shared by me
When you have created portfolio pages (and collections), you may wish to share them with others, e.g. to receive feedback. You can set the access permissions on the Edit access page. It is accessible via Portfolio → Shared by me or directly from the page editor when you edit a portfolio page.
In Mahara 1.7, the menu item Share in the personal portfolio area was renamed to Shared by me. This step was taken to bring in the Shared pages menu item, previously located under Groups, to the Portfolio section as Shared with me. This distinction makes it easier for users to know on which page they can share their own portfolios and where they need to go to view portfolio pages and collections by others.
The Share overview page shows you the following.
The Edit access page allows you to set the permissions for a single user or multiple users who should be able to view some of your portfolio pages or collections.
You can assign access to a single page or collection at a time or to multiple pages and / or collections at once.
You have a number of choices for selecting who shall be able to see what. Always click the Add button if you want to add a group of people or an individual.
Your friends or individual users with whom you shared your pages / collections receive a notification. Group members also receive a notification that you shared a page with them if the group administrator allowed that. You do not receive a notification when users share their page with the public, all logged-in users, an entire institution or friends.
You can restrict full access to your profile page to the members of your institution if the site administrator allowed that in Administration → Configure site → User settings → Logged-in profile access.
If you allow only members of your own institution(s) to see your profile page, other users who have an account can only see basic information, e.g. your name, your institution membership and messaging information.
In addition to controlling who shall have access to your pages / collections, you can further restrict that access for a specific period of time.
You can choose a number of additional options which are applied to all pages and / or collections that are selected.
Allow comments: This check box is selected by default to encourage you to allow others to comment on your pages.
Moderate comments: If you wish to see any comment before it is made public, i.e. can be see by others who have access to the page on which the comment is made, place a check mark here.
Allow copying: Place a check mark in this box if you want to allow the users who can view your page to make a copy of it for themselves. Any text box content, files and folders will be transferred to their portfolio. For journals or journal entries you decide separately whether they can copy them or not via the Block copy permission. Profile information, plans and résumé information are not copied.
Check the blocks which can be copied.
Retain view access on copied pages or collections: This option only becomes available when you put a check mark next to the option Allow copying. When you tick this check box, you as owner of the page / collection will have access to the copied page / collection automatically. However, the owner of the copied page / collection can take that access away at any time.
Overriding start / stop dates: You set the time frame for when all users who have access to your page / collection can view your page. The dates here override any individual dates you may have set.
If you have not allowed comments in general, you can still choose to allow them for a certain person or group of people who are in your access list. That way you can regulate very flexibly who shall be able to place comments on a page / collection and who cannot.
If you edit an institution page, you see the additional option Copy for new institution members when you allowed copying. With this option you can place a page directly into the portfolio of a new user. Existing users still have to copy the page themselves.
Besides giving users who have a login or the entire public access to your portfolio, you can also give users who do not have an account on Mahara access to your portfolio pages and / or collections without making your work publicly available and searchable by search engines. This can be interesting, e.g.
You can create a secret URL the following way: when you are on the share overview page and click on the Edit button :
Logged-out users or those who do not have an account can only leave comments on public pages or pages which they can access via a secret URL if the site administrator turned on the Anonymous comments function under Administration → Configure site → User settings.